Nowadays, children watch too much TV. Why is this happening, and what can be done to prevent it?

Over the years, television has become an essential device in homes. However, lately, many children spend excessive time watching television. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this trend and suggest steps to prevent this. There are two primary reasons why children spend most of their time viewing TV. Firstly, watching TV has become their main activity because space is restricted to play outdoor games due to space constraints, especially in the cities. Hence, children have less physical play incorporated in their free time and resort to watching TV. For example, high-rise apartments have confined spaces, and most parks are being turned into buildings, leaving the young confined to their homes, watching TV most of the time. On top of that, parents are primarily working and busy, spending less time with children, so households are using TV as a babysitter, which acts as a companion for the children and entertainment. In the end, children will get used to watching TV excessively at home because there is nothing else to do. Thankfully there are many ways to prevent younger people from overindulging in TV. For a start, the government could ensure developments to include parks with playgrounds for children to play; this may help reduce the hours children spend on TV and be more active in outdoor programs such as badminton or soccer with their neighbourhood friends. Furthermore, working parents could plan a better work-life balance by spending more time with their children without the presence of the TV and being present in simple activities together such as hiking, playing sports or reading books together. Both suggested recommendations can easily help children to reduce their TV screen time. In conclusion, the excessive amount of time children spend watching TV may be due to confined spaces to play and less time spent with their parents. Better law enforcement on parks in neighbourhoods and improved quality time within the family can help prevent wasted time on TV.