Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disavantages of doing this?

In today's world, driving cars has become a popular and common way of transportation because of their convenience and time -saving benefits. Some individuals argue that it should be an obligation to refresh their driver's license regularly every five years, while others contend that it should be a once-in-the-life time test. To discuss further, I will outline the pros and cons of both sides of policies in the following paragraph. To begin with, retesting drivers ensures they maintain quick responses and sufficient knowledge to handle emergencies, which is key to reducing car accidents. For example, Japan has a strict law requiring drivers to renew their licenses every three or five years for the safety of both pedestrians and drivers. Additionally, elderly adults do not perceive whether they are eligible to drive safely. The main reason is that they often lack check-ups for their eyesight, reaction time, and muscle strength, leading to traffic issues. Therefore, having driving renewal policies indeed possesses its advantages. On the other hand, some people may consider about additional cost associated with retaking the driving tests every five years. In addition, the process of retesting and renewing the driver's license can be time -consuming and inconvenient for those occupied with work and family. For instance, city dwellers who work in the convenience store, have non-regular duty shifts, daytime or nighttime, resulting in limited time to retest. Thus, the license renewal policy may burden the service industry and taxpayers. In summary, refreshing the car license regularly or testing only once time, is likely to have pros and cons. I believe that safety should be the primary consideration because sometimes people would take a risk even if they are not able to drive safely. The government plays a pivotal role in enacting efficient laws or policies to restrict those who pose the potential danger on the road.