Some people think that it is better to choose friends who always have same opinions as them, other people believe it’s good to have friend who disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a debated topic for some people when they select their friends. While some individuals prefer selecting their friends who have matching with their personalities, others think that it is better being a friend with an opposite personality. On the one hand, the main reason, for those who choose their friends when they have similar thoughts, is because they got along with such people perfectly. In fact, these friends can understand them more efficiently since they know their way of thinking. For example, a highly sensitive person has always difficulty interacting with people and often gets misunderstood by others. A special treatment and awareness is required to deal with his actions and as a result, this personality prefer to be a friend with someone who has same characteristics. Thus, a long lasting friendship when a person finds someone with similar opinions and would not judge him. On the other hand, other people prefer friends who have opposite thoughts and opinions because they get the chance to be directed in different ways by their peers. This can be seen in friends who have different perspectives and visions when analysing issues. For instance, consultations regarding social matters usually require advice from different aspects. Hence, the help from a friend to see things that are hard to be recognised by the person, expand one’s horizon and be wiser as a result. To conclude, while some people like to select friends who have similar thoughts, others prefer to choose their friends who have opposite way of thinking. I am of the view that selecting friends with the same way of thinking is better because they have the ability to comfort their friends in hard times.