Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays a number of kids work with their smartphones for many hours. This usage has two main reasons educational purposes and entertainment purposes. In my opinion, it is a negative development, and it will be discussed in this essay. First, as technology has developed in recent years, smartphones can be used for a wide range of entertainment activities, like playing games, watching films and etc. Therefore, children use them in their leisure time. For example, most children play Clash Of Clans when they want to play a game. Moreover, smartphones can be used for educational purposes. In other words, children take advantage of smartphones for learning a wide range of skills, such as drawing, increasing reading speed, programming and etc. Another point is that now, children have fewer friends compared with the past. Consequently, they fill this time with their smartphones. On the other hand, this trend has two critical drawbacks: distraction, and reduction in physical activities. Firstly, these types of technology can distract kids easily. Therefore, they will not be able to focus on their activities in long term and easily lose their attention. For example, if a boy wants to study and suddenly gives a text from his friend and loses his focus. Furthermore, working with smartphones reduces children's physical activities and causes many health problems. In conclusion, there are some reasons that children use smartphones for a long time but it has a negative impact on their physical and mental health.