Some think that government should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe that retirees should be given monetary supports by the government while others think that they should be made to cater for themselves. I will be expatiating on this and as well give my opinion in subsequent paragraphs. Although it is arguable that government should be made to shoulder the financial upkeep of their retired citizenry, it is quite burdernsome. The financial toll of running the country is already high in various countries and adding to this might be unsustainable. For example, the cost of running Niger, as recorded by the 2003 United Nations Report for Countries in Africa, was about 3.5 trillion dollars which was way above the country's earnings. Thus, countries should not add the cost of financial welfare of their inactive populace to the already high cost of running their nation. It is my belief that people should be made to take responsibility for their finances even after their active years. This is because as humans work, it is reasonably expected of them to have retirement plans and not rely on others for their survival. Moreso, when a person takes a job at a young age, it is imperative of him to save up for later when he will be less productive. It is therefore unfair for people who had all the time to plan for their retirement to place financial burden on the state. Thus, as an example, a factory worker should save up and take care of his monetary needs rather than squandering his earnings and placing his hope on the state for upkeeps. To sum up, rather than making the government cater for the financial needs of retired citizens, retirees should be left alone to take care of themselves monetarily