Some people rely too much on doctors instead of taking care of their own health. What problems could this approach to healthcare cause and how might they be solved?

In today’s society, since some people rely on doctors instead of following healthy habits, healthcare shortage is a relevant issue. In the following essay, some solutions will be exposed, with relevant examples aside. The foremost problem is that with a shortage of doctors’ medical expenses will probably rise. This is a significant issue considering that in many countries some still can’t afford sufficient cures. For example, new graduates in medical school tend to go abroad to work as they receive a higher wage. One solution would be for the government to increase Doctor’s stipends in order to give them an incentive to stay and work in Italy. This is because higher offer leads to lower medical expenses, which would have a beneficial impact on the medical healthcare system. Another urgent aspect is hospitals at capacity, meaning fully saturated: if people occupy spots because they can’t follow healthy habits, other urgent patients risk not having a place to be cured when in need. However, there are some solutions to this situation. Firstly, as suggested by Hippocrates, if people get properly taught how to follow healthy habits the issue might be solved. Moreover, if the priority is given to urgent patients, those who know the risk of not being cured because of their unhealthy actions might have a further incentive. Also, nowadays, access to nutrition-related education is exclusive and often expensive. To solve this problem, the Government could help by paying nutrition experts to take part in wellness TV shows sharing healthy practices. These positive nutrition facts, with exposure on social media, could reach the majority of the public, educating and motivating even the laziest person live a better lifestyle. In conclusion, there are negative impacts if people rely too much on doctors both for medical expenses and for lacking spots for medical needs. However, there are some solutions to these issues. If education for healthy habits becomes more accessible and cheaper and more doc’s workplaces are offered, these problems would be solved.