The advent of the internet has made it possible for people to work from home. Do you feel this working arrangement has more advantages or disad- vantages? Share personal examples in your essay.

The internet has revolutionised the world in many different ways. One opportunity it has opened is the possibility for people to work from home. Despite the many advantages that derive from this arrangement, I feel that working from home is predominantly disadvantageous to the professional. This will be shown by looking at how the home sets professionals up to be both distracted and unable to detach themselves from work. For one, although working from home may be a more cost effective and independent way to work, most people are likely to get distracted under this working arrangement. For example, a former manager of mine once delegated a major writing project to me and instructed me to complete it at home over the course of a month. When I went to engage the project, I found it difficult to stay focused while in an environment I normally used for relaxing, and as a result the quality of my work suffered. My experience clearly shows that for people similar to myself, working from home is disadvantageous to productivity. In addition to this, the stay at home worker often finds it challenging to distance them- selves from their work, and this can be mentally exhausting. For instance, a colleague of mine started his own business from home. Within the first few months, he was receiv- ing telephone calls, emails and faxes at all times of the day and night. In the end, he felt forced to migrate this professional pursuit to a rented office apartment simply because it was taking over his life. As this story illustrates, the disadvantages of a home based job are numerous. To conclude, despite the advantages of lower overhead and independence, working from home has many more drawbacks than favourable points. I thus hope that professionals everywhere think carefully before settling on this working arrangement.