It is a good idea to have large public spaces in towns and cities such as parks and squares. Do you agree or disagree? Why?

There has been a controversy about whether cities should have those large public spaces, such as parks and squares. I would say it's necessary, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. Those large public spaces can propel the city's economic development. As we know, shopping malls are always located in the city centre; they represent the city's capacity to a large extent. Therefore, if there is a well-known shopping mall in a certain city, then the publicity of this city is bound to increase, and it will attract more tourists. As a result, this city can better develop. It's worth mentioning that shopping malls are extremely vital for some small cities or towns than megacities. Those big cities have already reached their bottlenecks, but for some small towns, it's a great opportunity to develop by building some shopping malls. Second, it's a good chance to establish a particular culture in the city. Take New York as an example. NY is famous for its time square, which can represent more than a single square. For example, it can give tourists a feeling that NY is the center of the world at their first glance, on account of numerous billboards in time square and all the skyscrapers. In this case, a large public space can exert an influence on people's minds. Third, it's advantageous to our bodies. Due to the growth of the human population, more people tend to live in cities; in other words, the number of cars will increase. As we know, a park has a lot of plants, like trees and flowers. They can absorb carbon dioxide and produce oxygen through photosynthesis. In conclusion, the merits of having large public spaces outstrip its demerits.