Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, living in an oversea country and using a foreign language is popular with many global citizens. It has social and practical issues that cannot be denied based on the majority sharing of ex-pats who live in a country that is not their homeland. However, thanks to technology development and public information on the internet, these difficulties are easy to overcome. This essay will discuss and clarify the above statement. It is the fact that the language barrier is the first obstacle causing issues for foreigners in many aspects like living, commuting, shopping, and getting a job. In particular, individuals who live in areas where residents cannot use English face more challenges daily than usual. Though, they can take advantage of technology and smartphones to help them solve these problems. For instance, translation apps such as Google Translate and delivery apps such as Uber and Grab are the most valuable apps for foreigners in most countries. Moreover, every country has its own culture and implicit rules, which foreigners may not understand if they do not live in the long run, leading to social matters. In case ex-pats cannot communicate with locals efficiently due to language barriers cause misunderstandings and misconceptions. As a result, it leads to mistakes in work, lack of connections with community and isolation, and even racism in society. Thus, people who want to live abroad need to research information on the internet or read books to prepare before moving. Thanks to the internet and social networks, individuals who live overseas can pass over social challenges effortlessly. In conclusion, social and practical issues are unpreventable/ unavoidable when living overseas because of linguistic barriers. Notwithstanding, they are completely solvable in a short time if they know how to take advantage of technology and work hard to understand the local culture, as well as read information in the media.