Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that working overtime may widen the economic stability of a particular country. However, I strongly disagree with this notion because it may affect detrimentally to the country's financial side. This essay comprises the facts behind my disagreement; followed by a logical conclusion. Firstly, the crucial fact that supports my side is, working reasonable hours per week causes to have a proper work-life balance. To elucidate, if someone is working over-time daily basis, then they will hard to find spare time to spend with their family. As a consequence of this, people will lack of happiness which makes them mentally unhealthy and this directly affects to the economy of the country. This is because the government will have to allocate a lot of portions of the budget to the health sector. Therefore, working long period is not favourable in terms of economically. Secondly, the efficiency of workers may lessen owing to continuously working. To be more precise, when someone is working more than 10 hours per day, those employees are highly unlikely to focus their attention on what they are doing. Moreover, it is way of wasting time. For example, in Finland, a plethora of companies are opened only 30 hours per week, and the employees are efficiently doing whatever they are assigned to do. Furthermore, Finland is well-developed and economically strength state. That is why short working time is more important. To conclude, it is a no-brainer to say that long-hour working system is harmful to the economic side due to the fact that, reducing work efficiency and unbalancing works and life. Hence, I strongly disagree to work long hours as this negatively affects the financial sector of the country.