some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this case? do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

I couldn’t agree more that some children spend hours every day on their smartphones and it is actually pretty tragic as it leads to more negative impacts. In my view, this is a negative development. Thus, I want to explain some reasons. Firstly, I do believe that some children should explore their surroundings to improve their sensitivity and creativity, and also build a good personality. If they spend their time more on their smartphones, then it would affect their character. For instance, they are not used to other individuals so they are more likely to be introverted and have trust issues with many people. Not only that but they would probably also be addicted to their gadget or in this case, it would be their smartphones. If they are already too obsessed with their smartphones, then they tend to be ignorant. Secondly, through smartphones, they can easily interact with strangers on social media and access any website without guidance. Unfortunately, there are so many either cyber crimes or negative content. Then it would not be impossible if they follow the negatives without knowing them since they still have no idea whether it’s good or not. As can be seen, spending most of the time on smartphones is a negative development as it has more negative outputs. Moreover when the parents or the adults surround them do not have a chance to always put attention to their children. In addition, parents should make a boundary about the use of smartphones so that they can use their smartphones wisely. It is equally important for the parents who have children around 2-5 years to give their children less screen time. Therefore, they would not addicted to smartphones as they grow up.