In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidences.

In the earlier days, most students were more likely to earn their university degrees in their own country. Nowadays, opportunities to study overseas greatly increased. In this essay, the pros and cons of this development will be further discussed. Firstly, students opting to study abroad enables them to experience a whole new educational system first -hand. This creates opportunities for them to fully immerse themselves and further understand the history, traditions, and culture of their host country. Moreover, this will give them a chance to meet new people from all around the world. Secondly, this also paves way for wider career options after they have completed their program. In addition, foreign students find it easier to find jobs when they have earned their degrees in the same country. On the other hand, studying overseas also have downsides to it. One disadvantage is that they often find it hard to quickly adapt to the culture and find themselves feeling homesick. Feelings of isolation may also arise as a result when they find themselves unable to communicate effectively with their peers such as during classroom discussions and seminars. Another disadvantage of the increasing number is the rise in competition for admission to universities among the locals. However, this may be corrected if locals would fight for their admissions to schools, for example, when engaging more in extracurricular activities and improving their grades in their subjects. In conclusion, the upsides of studying abroad include learning about new cultures and traditions as well as increased career paths. However, it can also lead to negative consequences such as feelings of isolation when unable to cope as well as negative impacts on the locals when competitions rise in number. Even so, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.