Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Staying abroad becomes one of the favours among the people, however, they are facing the consequences of living in totally new environments. This essay will discuss the practical and social problems of this issue. To begin with, one of the social problems is racism. Usually, people judge others based on their nationalities and reject them without knowing them in detail. As a result, foreigners are not able to dissolve into the local community and are not able to cope with loneliness. Moreover, inequality of lifestyles gives them challenges. Even though people are expected to face totally different cultures, it might take a long period of time to accept the local culture or even move back to their hometown in the end. For instance, food preference is different among Asians and Europeans. Asian usually consume rice and noodles while Europeans prefer bread or meat for their meals. Hence, living abroad could be stressful and challenging to adapt to local cultures. On the other hand, another case of a practical problem is conversation. As we have to speak in a foreign language, it might cause misunderstandings with locals unless we are professional with their languages. Different cultures have For instance, some of the expressions could be used as a joke in our countries, however, these jokes could be rude to the locals and create discomfort. In addition, it is a fact that it is not easy to secure a job. A number of the local companies prefer local workers due to visa or language problems. A handful of them requires language qualifications to prove applicants’ abilities to handle the work together with local employers. This huddle creates more challenges for foreigners and they spend time and money to receive the qualifications for their employment. Therefore, competitive environments are provided to foreigners due to language proficiency. In conclusion, although staying abroad brings an opportunity to experience new cultures, I think people who decide to stay abroad must be expected to face cultural differences and be well trained to adapt to a new lifestyle.