The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

Undoubtedly, the era of urbanization has brought with itself the inevitable destruction of nature, leaving wildlife homeless and on the brink of extinction. As a result, environmentalists are putting increasing pressure on the governments to take action. This essay will discuss why protecting animal species is essential and suggest measures that the authorities can implement to ensure their conservation. To commence with, conserving wildlife is crucial to maintaining the ecosystem. The lifecycle of the ecosystem thrives primarily on the numerous animal species at its different stages. For example, the carnivorous community of wildlife is dependent on the herbivorous animals and if any of these species were to become extinct, it would negatively impact the entire nature cycle. Hence, in order to keep the existing lifecycle balance, it is essential for mankind to protect animals. To do so, it is recommended that governments should take stringent measures concerning wildlife. Firstly, hunting should be banned, and the violators of the law should face harsher penalties, including heavy fines. Secondly, it is necessary for authorities to establish animal sanctuaries and conservation zones for the endangered species to not only ensure their survival but also to encourage their reproduction. It is, thus, the responsibility of the state to execute the uncompromising laws and initiate the construction of ecological reserves to safeguard the animal populations. In conclusion, the preservation of wildlife is crucial for the overall balance of the ecosystem to be maintained. And for that, the governments can resort to both enforcement of stricter laws protecting these species and creating safer habitats for them.