Air transport is increasingly used to transport fruit and vegetables to other countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Fresh produces are being frequently exported by air into nations where it is out of season or impossible to grow. The advantages of this are that consumers can enjoy a wider range of fresh fruits and vegetables all year and some countries rely on imported food to feed their people. However, this puts tremendous strain on the environment because of pollution produced by airplanes and harmful farming practices. One benefit of importing fruit and vegetables is the wide range of produce that can be found throughout the year. This is easily demonstrated by looking into those countries that are able to produce certain crips during specific seasons, so without imports, they would not be able to consume these foods year-round. Moreover, imported produce is vital for survival in some countries. This is because their harsh environment prevents sufficient food from being grown. For example, Qatar is mostly desert and relies largely on imported produce. On the other hand, a lot of pollution, is caused by airplanes. This is to say that each time food is imported, a huge amount of fuel is burned, resulting in carbon emissions that contribute to global warming. This is compounded by the fact that exporting food often results in farming methods that damage the environment. The extra demand of overseas markets requires domestic producers to increase their food production, which often means using dangerous pesticides and herbicides, and many waterways are contaminated with these hazardous chemicals. In conclusion, while exporting produce overseas allows people to eat a variety of fruit and vegetables throughout the year and it is essential for people in some countries to survive, it is important to pay attention to the costs to the environment caused by air transport and changes to farming methods.