Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this viewpoint?

It is being argued that government expenditures should go elsewhere instead of the arts. However, this essay strongly disagrees with this statement and believes in the significant benefits that the arts could offer to people and the economy. To begin, investing in the arts should not be overlooked because it helps preserve the country's history and culture. Without the authorities’ spending on maintaining the historic buildings, such as the Leaning Tower of Pisa in Italy, it would have collapsed or disappeared and not be able for us and future generations to evidence its existence. In addition, the arts contribute to the economy. Many people work in the cultural sector, from artists to those who run museums and galleries. This creates jobs and attracts tourists from all over the world, which brings in revenue to the country. For instance, cities with rich cultural scenes like Paris often become tourist hotspots, boosting local business and creating economic growth. Moreover, it is important to acknowledge that art is a way to express ideas and communication. This not only encourages creativity but also promotes harmony in the society. It is also crucial for personal development. Engaging with the arts fosters various skills that are valuable in any field of work. By investing in the arts, governments are investing in the development of their people as well. In conclusion, I firmly disagree with the statement and believe it is not a waste of capital to spend on arts since it contributes to several impactful benefits, including the preservation of history and culture, positive economic impact, encouraging creativity and promoting harmony, and improving various essential skills on people.