When cars and cyclists use the same roads, there are often problems. Why is this the case? What are the solutions?

In this contemporary era, people are using a plethora of transportation methods. Traveling and commuting by both cars and bicycles on the same roads can cause several issues. Lack of road space and reckless car drivers are the foremost causes of this problem, whilst developing roads and legal punishments are the superior measures. This essay comprises both causes and solutions; followed by a logical conclusion. There are two main reasons for the problems arising when the same road is used by drivers and cyclists. Firstly, lack of adequate space in roads for the sake of both cyclists and car drivers. To elucidate, with a growing number of vehicles in highways, cyclists are hard to travel easily, moreover, there may be accidents as well. For example, in Chennai city, most road accidents are related to cyclists due to the fact that narrow roads. Secondly, careless car drivers inflict on this problem. Because most drivers do not even think about bicycles as those are small compared to cars. Therefore, under-developed roads and drivers ' mindsets are the major realms of this. One possible solution is that, improve road infrastructure where cyclists are having a dedicated path. To be more precise, when there are 2 roads separately, one for cars, and another one for bicycles; the accident rate may lessen dramatically, while cyclists find it more easier to travel or commute. Most Scandinavian countries, like Finland are practising this which they have umpteen benefits. Introducing stringent laws is the next solution. For example, fines for those who are breaching road laws, especially car drivers, may reduce a lot of problems. Thus, proper planning of roads and laws are the important solutions. To conclude, owing to both cars and cycles being on the same roads can cause a myriad of problems. Narrow roads and careless drivers are the reasons for this while road development and legal actions are the utmost solutions.