Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is common these days that every person is suffering from some kind of health ailment. It has been widely observed that in the recent era, a growing number of people who are suffering from any health disorder are taking medications on their own rather than visiting the doctor. This essay will shed light on whether it is a beneficial or harmful advancement in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, there can be some advantages of it. Primarily, It saves the time of people who are taking alternative medicines by getting knowledge about it from various sources, such as the Internet. Additionally, there is no need to stand in long queues in hospitals in case of normal diseases. For example, a person who is having a normal headache can take a painkiller namely, Saridon which is easily available in their homes. On the other hand, despite having merits it has various demerits as well. Firstly, the wrong medication can even worsen the situation. There are various side effects of some pills which are not known to the common man. Thus, a prescription is mandatory while taking any medicine. For example, some people are complaining that they get skin allergies due to a particular pill, these can happen because of their little knowledge about that pill. Secondly, visiting the health institutions ensures a long-term solution to the current problem. In other words, doctors are having expertise in this field and they can provide you with a permanent solution which is not possible in the case of taking self-medications. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that it has both views yet if I consider it logically then I believe that the latter view is more powerful and effective. Therefore, In my opinion, it is a negative development.