Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to counsume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Processed food and drinks contain harmful chemicals and a lot of sugar causing health problems. Therefore, people think that sugary products should be expensive to discourage them from purchasing such items. I do not completely agree with this and in this, essay I will first state the pons and secondly the cons with relevant examples. First and foremost, sugar is important for us as it provides us with energy. However, a high level of sugar consumption is bad for the health as it is the leading cause of diseases such as diabetes and obesity. Processed food and drinks such as soft drinks, and burgers contain an unhealthy amounts of sugar. For instance, based on a research done by the University of California more than thirty per cent of the Americans suffer from diabetes, high blood pressure and obesity due to high consumption of fast food. Additionally, such processed food are comparatively cheaper than healthy meals. Therefore, authorities should take action to make healthy food options affordable and increasing the price of processed food and drinks will encourage people to buy healthy food and eat more home-cooked meals. On the hand, some people believe that increasing the price of manufactured food and drinks and making them unaffordable to middle-income people is unfair because fast food and drinks had made people's lives more convenient and easy. To elaborate on this matter further, people nowadays have a busy schedule. Most people do not have to spend hours in the kitchen preparing meals. As a result, they rely on fast food and drinks. Thus making processed food expensive will make their lives difficult. In conclusion, it is true that high consumption is bad for the health. But increasing the price of processed food and drinks will not solve the problem. In my point of view, people should have the freedom of their choice and authorities should step in to reduce the price of healthy food.