Computers are being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantags.

There has been controversy about whether being used computers for educational purposes would be more beneficial than drawbacks. In this essay, the pros and cons will be explained in the following paragraphs. To begin with, using computers for teaching purposes significantly improves learning efficiency than the traditional ways. First, virtual books are more comfortable to carry than real books and the former ones allow students to store all the learning materials on computers. Besides, they have the freedom to search for the information they needed such as literature and the latest scientific reports which will be very helpful during their coursework. For instance, a survey conducted in Hong Kong states that students are more willing to use digital devices for learning, because of the accessibility, and the degree of comfort, which significantly improved their performance on coursework. On the other hand, the main disadvantage associated with these technology devices used in education is the absence of discipline. Students tend to misuse or side-track by using computers for non-academic purposes rather than for a beneficial cause. This will have a significant negative impact on the learning process once they are attracted by the technology for a non-academic purpose, such as games. For instance, recent research on the “negative effect of computer usage” reported that most students who did not overlook their parents or teachers who overused or misused technology devices significantly affected their academic performance. In conclusion, the benefits that technology brings to education, such as a wide variety of knowledge and information should be weighed against the drawbacks such as the absence of discipline. From my personal perspective, I believed that the benefits of technology involves in education outweigh the disadvantages if the students are guided and monitored properly.