Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctors. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

At the present time, more and more people with health issues are willing to try alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. As far as I’m concerned, this tendency is rather a positive development than a negative development. There are several drawbacks of modern occidental medicine found by patients. First of all, even though many has insurance for diseases, it still costs a lot to follow a long-term treatment, not to mention the spending on prescriptions. A Chinese movie called “I’m not the God of medicine ”has revealed a real tragedy where cancer patients lived in poverty because of the unaffordable fee of medicine, then turned to knockoff medicine from India and eventually were stopped by the law and died. Moreover, other types of medicines and therapy among which Chinese traditional medicine is one of the best testimonies are proved to be efficacious besides the western medicine constantly used by doctors. Of course, it is undeniable that modern occidental medicine is the mainstream remedy which functions quickly and the choice of doctors is always magisterial, the side effects, however, arouse the concern of patients. In addition, since a positive attitude facilitates the recovery of illnesses, some of the patients would love to keep in a good mood throughout hospitalization by changing the scenery, so they seek alternative pharmaceuticals and treatment instead of visiting their usual hospitals and doctors. In conclusion, making different choices in medicines and operations doesn’t equal a negative development.