In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is predicted by some people that no one will choose to purchase printed newspapers or books since these materials will be capable of being gained from the Internet without paying. From my perspective, although this trajectory may be foreseen by a group of people due to the issue of technical development, the actual form of reading materials will not be gotten without exchange because of the issue of copyright. In terms of authors, the issue of copyright of printed materials is essential for their rights of originality. As the problem of copyright is getting increasingly important, the authors might take some measures to prevent their rights from getting invaded. For instance, many authors who write novels show a preference for publicising their books through some platforms that are not for free, such as Kindle. Meanwhile, these platforms also set a subsequence of rules that help get the risk of free downloading. That is to say, readers have to pay for these books instead of simply gaining resources without spending money. When it comes to the aspect of readers, it is getting aware within the public that people should show more respect for the rights of the authors. For instance, the readers of fan fiction tend to obey the rules of purchasing the original printed books of authors and not spreading them publicly. Moreover, they would actively object to those people who were eager to earn money by printing books on their own. Undeniably, there is a tendency that a large number of people prefer to read online due to the rapid development of the Internet. However, it does not necessarily mean that the public would get all the reading materials just for free. Nowadays, it is common to see that many people would prefer to buy a digital book to read online and show their willingness to pay for the knowledge. To summarise, the issue of copyright holds a significant place in the minds of both authors and readers regardless of technical issues. Therefore, it may be predicted that there are also a considerable number of people would wish to spend money on reading materials online.