Some people argue that capital punishment is good for a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the death penalty benefits a nation. I completely agree with this opinion and in this essay I will state the reasons for my view. The most compelling reason for holding to my view is that the death penalty is an effective deterrent to serious crime. This is because it instils fear of carrying out serious crimes as people would not want to lose their life as a result of that. For example, people who are thinking of murder or committing violent acts will think twice before doing so. As a result of this policy, crime rate would go down. Another reason for my position is that the government will be able to spend less money on keeping the criminal in prison. If the criminal is jailed for many years or for life, the government would need to pay for the enormous expenses involved such as the cost of food for the prisoners and the salaries for the prison officers. However, with the death sentence, the prisoner will spend less time in prison and this would reduce the cost of imprisonment substantially. Lastly, with capital punishment, the dangerous criminal would never be able to reoffend. The reason for this is that executed criminals will no longer be alive and therefore they will never pose a threat to society ever again. This would make society a safer place. In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that sentencing serious criminals to death is beneficial for countries. This is because of its deterrent effect, its ability to save the government a lot of money and the fact that we can keep dangerous criminals out of society forever. Given this situation, it is recommended that governments around the world should think about implementing this form of punishment