More and more people work from home and students will study at home if computer technologies become cheap and accessible. What advantages and disadvantages will happen?

In the past three years, we have observed a steady increase of people either working or studying from home. This is becoming more accessible thanks to lower technology costs, such as computers and highly efficient connections to the internet. However, while some people advocate that this modality of work is extremally beneficial to many individuals, others disagree. Opponents of working from home argue workers might be less productive if they did not have a regular schedule in an office environment. For example, at home people are exposed to a lot of distractions that could jeopardise their work, such as personal phone calls, access to television or noises from neighbours. Moreover, by working or studying from home, people lose interactions with their peers, which might be extremely prejudicial in some areas where working in teams are essential. Although the above points are valid, I do not agree that they outweigh the numerous advantages of working from home. Firstly, it might be cost-saving for companies or universities, as less infrastructure is necessary. For instance, my sister in my home country used to work in an office before the Covid-19 pandemic. After all the health public measures were implemented in early 2020, she started to work from home, and the company that she works for saved roughly 500,000 million dollars in rental and other utilities. Secondly, it might be healthier for employees. Not only would they spend less time in commute to go to their jobs, but also they can practice some healthy attitudes. For instance, since I have started working from home, I prepare my own meals that are usually healthier than those I used to purchase close to my office. Furthermore, I like to take a break in the afternoon for a nap or for a walk in my neighbourhood, and when I resume my work -related activities I am more productive. In a nutshell, I believe that home offices are a new modality of work that should be implemented and expanded across companies as brings several benefits for companies and employees.