The first man to walk on the moon claimed it was a step forward for mankind. However, it has made little difference in most people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no shortage of opinions on whether it was necessary or not to spend a huge number of resources in the last century on space travel. But if I were forced to choose, I would definitely say that the landing on the moon was truly a great leap for mankind. It is my firm belief that for a number of reasons and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs. First of all, the vast majority of nowadays inventions actually went from a military industry. The space race between the Soviet Union and the US combined all the greatest engineers and scientists to reach the goal of building the best rockets and spacecrafts. Therefore, it led to devising new technologies like power microchips, personal computers, protected networks etc. As a result, after the ending of the space race, a bigger part of inventions came to the public and it caused a sharp rise of electronics in the following years. For instance, computers and the Internet are just a few examples of things we use since that time. It is certainly clear to see why cosmic programs have a positive impact, as today we cannot even imagine how to exist without laptops and social networks. Secondly, people were always curious about stars and objects which they can easily see at midnight. There are a lot of books and stories being written about space topics, especially about the colonization of other planets or the invasion of aliens to our Earth. And the thing is even our generation does not leave hopes for space travelling. For example, Elon Musk with his company Space X promised to send rockets to Mars and his test flights have already succeeded, so we might see the launch in the near future. For this reason, I think that Nil Armstrong's statement about the great step forward for mankind was on point. To sum up, in light of the above-mentioned reasons, I want to emphasize that people always were eager to discover more about other worlds and life behind the Earth, therefore the first expedition to the moon made a difference for what we have now.