In some countries the number of people who use bicycles as their main form of transport is decreasing even though riding bicycles has many benefits. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles.

Transportation have involved in the last fifty years, from bullock carts to bicycles to cars and buses. During this period, usage of bicycle is minimised despite the health benefits.In this essay, I will look firstly on the reasons and then highlight how to encourage the usage with appropriate examples. To start with, in most of the countries urban roads remain the same and it is almost congested with private and public vehicles, therefore no space for bicycle riders, also putting cyclist on risk.Recently road and safety NGO released statistics on the road accidents highlighting cyclist is the most vulnerable to hit and run cases.The other reason,per-capita income has increased,influencing layman for choosing two or four wheeler instead of a bicycle. Nowadays, having two or four wheeler is acting as a status symbol,neglecting health benefits by using bicycles. To increase the usage of bicycle, first, separate cyclelane cycle-lane cycle lanes need to create which is well connected with the city centres and other important places with shortest route, away from the main roads. This will give immense security to cyclists. Second, the government initiative is needed where buyers can purchase bicycles on the subsidised rate along with the tax relief. Third, health policies should be interlinked with the usage of the pedal bikes. For example, leading insurance organisation comes with the incentive plans, wherein users can get loyalty points for every kilometre ride by the bicycle but pedal bikes should have a GPS tracker.Fourth, the government should increase the taxes on buying the motorcycles or cars. For example, in Denmark there are heavy taxes on the vehicles which discourage buyers, as a result the preferred mode of commuting through pedal bikes, highest in the world. In conclusion, stating the reasons followed by the ways to increase the bicycle usage, people have to understand the benefits and the consequences of sedentary lifestyle.