Mobile phones are considered essential by most people nowadays. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of mobile phones

There has been a controversy about whether mobile phones are advantageous to our life. I think mobile phones have some merits and demerits; my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, it brings convenience to our life. Take China as an example. Due to e-commerce, mobile phones have become closely linked with people's daily life; we can do hundreds and thousands of things through mobile phones, such as paying bills with phones rather than cash or cards. When I was in China, I barely used cash; I always paid bills with my phone. At this point, mobile phones make our life more convenient. It's worth mentioning that on account of the multi-functions of smartphones, our natural resources are indirectly saved. For instance, people tend to read news on their phones instead of newspapers; thus, the wood resources can be saved. Second, smartphones create more job opportunities. There are a large number of new jobs that are related to the internet, like Youtuber or Instagram influencer. As we know, due to the advent of mobile phones, we can use the internet easier. Therefore, phone users can use their phones to interact with internet workers, and those workers can gain more attention through smartphones. It can be said that smartphones and internet workers are interdependent. On the other hand, mobile phones have some disadvantages. For instance, they can adversely affect our eyesight. According to some statistical figures, there is a growth in the global myopic rate, and smartphones are considered one of the main causes that bring about this phenomenon. In conclusion, mobile phones are a double-edged sword, and how to use them depends on the individual entirely.