In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

For some people in several countries, having their own property is very essential for them instead of renting one. Here, I would like to explain about the possible causes and give my personal opinion about this situation. In the subject of human needs, owning a home is considered as a primary need that comes after food and clothing. Thus, having a house becomes very important for many people and perhaps becomes the first priority on everybody’s bucket list. This condition is also emphasized by the opinion about having a property as a part of social status. According to both views, it makes sense that people prefer owning a home to renting in light of its importance and the impact on their status in the society. Even though a home is a basic need for human being, I do not think that owning property is a big deal. To take Jakarta as an example, the price of the land in the city is exorbitantly high and somehow does not meet people ’s ability to afford the house within the city. Consequently, many people opt for buying a property in the suburb area which is quite far from the city center. Inevitably, this circumstance actually brings the lack of efficiency since the workers need more time to commute to their workplace in Jakarta as well as spending more money for transportation. According to National Survey of Workers Behavior in Jakarta, the comparison between the cost of renting a house inside the city and having one outside the city are rather the same. In conclusion, owning a home is a primary need for the people and somehow can be a symbol of social status. However, it is worth to rent a property at the cost of efficiency for those who can not afford to have one near their workplace area.