Some believe hosting major international sporting events will bring benefits to the country.Other believe it might bring disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give ur opinion. Let us attempt this today

It is considered by some, that hosting major international sporting events has it's demerits; While there are others who think it is of significant advantage. Playing host to numerous foriegn nationals posses some degree of threat to a nation's domestic security; However hosting major international sporting events brings about marked infrastructural development in the tourism and hospitality sector of a nation, as such I believe it will be of great benefit. Playing host to numerous foriegn nationals posses some degree of threat to a nation's domestic security, as this entails speedy approval of visas to lots of applicants from different countries in short time intervals, which creates a loop whole, making it easy for terrorists to gain access into a country undetected. This was evident in the bombing of olympic tournaments in the past. Hosting major international sporting events requires a minimum globally accepted standard which must be put in place by the host nation, such as building of stadia, airports and hotels. This infrastructural development will remain long after the sporting event creating employment and serving as tourist attraction, thus improving the socio-economic status of the nation. A good example is seen in the marked developed achieved by Qatar after hosting the FIFA world cup. In conclusion, although hosting major international sporting events posses security threats and increase in crime rate, the revenue influx and infrastructural development that follows hosting such global events is quiet significantand significant and and will be of more benefit.