“Many children these days have an unhealthy lifestyle. Both schools and parents are equally responsible for solving this problem” To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Over the past 100 years, the lifestyle of children has drastically shifted from an outdoor active style to a sedentary indoor lifestyle. This has caused an unhealthy way of living for many children and this is not only caused by parents but also by schools. This essay will argue that children are living an unhealthy lifestyle and who is to blame. While I completely agree with the opinion above some can argue that the given statement is not true. While some kids are living unhealthy lifestyles this does not encompass the whole demographic. The majority of children are active and maintain a good balance of indoor and outdoor activities. This is especially true during the summer months, for example, when children go out to play football, basketball and other sports. This is encouraged by parents and schools. Furthermore, schools also have physical education classes and break time, where kids play outside. These facts show why arguments can be made to disagree with the given statement. However while the above is partially true, in my opinion, I think that kids spend too much time sitting at home playing video games such as Fortnight and Minecraft, among others. This is the fault of parents who are not encouraging their children to go out and play. Furthermore, while schools do run physical education classes, they are limited in: what they teach, how often they occur and the limited space for children to fully take advantage of the class. This means that they are not getting enough exercise to have a healthy lifestyle. The combination of the above facts means the cause of this bad lifestyle is both the parents and the school system. In conclusion, the essay argued that some children do maintain a healthy lifestyle, while the majority do not. In my opinion, I agree with the former and think more can be done to improve the lifestyle of our future generations.