Some people say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A lot of millennial is of the notion that the retirement age should be increased as the life expectancy of humans have risen over time. I partially agree with the aforementioned statement and would state my views for the same. On the one hand, there is an argument that the period of existence of people has significantly increased so the age criteria for retirement should be changed so that people can work for a longer period. The add-on advantage of this concept would be that people will remain occupied with their work and will be more active during their declining age. It will also act as a solution to kill their alone time as most of the time their kids will remain occupied with their own jobs and higher studies. Another school of thought belongs to the idea that the retirement age should not be changed so that retirees can get some quality time to spend with their family members,especially spouses. As they were busy earning money for their family during their young days. Furthermore, they will get an opportunity to focus on their favourite past- time activities or can use this time to learn something new. In conclusion, I believe that the retirement age should not be changed. However, it depends on the choice of the individual whether they want to continue their job or want to learn something new after the stipulated declining age.