2. Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is still controversial whether people should pursue academic study at university or apply for a vocational training course. While somebody believes that an academic career is essential, I would argue that we should encourage more people to be qualified as workers who do manual jobs. On the one hand, there is a school of thought that university study is of importance. People supporting this point of view would argue that pursuing an academic career could give them an opportunity to have a more rewarding job. More specifically, such intellectual jobs as engineers and politicians, which are often considered to be more lucrative than manual jobs, could only be acquired through academic study. Therefore, people are more attracted to these occupations. However, people doing labour work could still be well-paid if they are skilful enough. On the other hand, I advocate the point of view that more people should apply for vocational courses. To elucidate, manual jobs such as electricians or construction workers are the building blocks of society, which have been contributing much to the development of society. For example, such workers are vital when new buildings are constructed or when existing buildings have to be renovated or simply maintained. Nevertheless, such jobs are now slowly disappearing as there is an increasing number of people having a desire for applying for intellectually-demanding works such as engineers or accountants, which could cause an imbalance in the economy as graduate people are unemployed while at the same time there is a shortage of skilled labour. Therefore, vocational training should be encouraged to ensure equality between intellectual and labour jobs in society. In conclusion, I agree that it is vital that we encourage more people to do vocational training because,without such skilled workers, society cannot function effectively.