Although there are a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advantage of technology, a myriad of activities have been facilitated. For example, it is possible to travel overseas without knowing the local language as many online translate softwares can contour this limitation and assist in communication. However, a recent trend considers that not relying in these tools and proper learning the language has its benefits. The paragraphs below will outline a complete agreement toward this issue. To begin with, the main reason to justify why learning another language would be advantageous is to avoid misinterpretation. Although languages have, each one, their grammar and structures to be followed, native speakers are not attached to these rules. As a matter of fact, giving new meanings to already existent words or creating new ones, like slangs, is a consequence of communicating, which could be a problem with the online tools, as it would require constant updates in order to translate properly according to the context and not to the literal meaning. Furthermore, another cogent motive to support my opinion is because it can enhance comprehension and interpretation of several other languages. Historically, some cultures are descendants from the same people, thus the way they speak and write, in some features, have similarities. For instance, by learning Portuguese, it is easier to follow dialogues in Spanish and French without having instruction. On the other hand, by learning English, it is possible to understand some pieces of a conversation in Dutch as well. To conclude, I strongly agree that learning a language has its advantages over relying on modern translate softwares to communicate, as it allows an adequate use of the language and exchange of information among parts, as well as can be used further to learn a third one, or at least have some comprehension of it.