Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies; How does it affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, people compete with one another in most communities and it is viewed by some individuals as a positive quality. While competitiveness affects individuals positively and negatively, I will give my opinion on whether it is a positive or negative trend. In different societies, people have made it a norm to compete with their peers instead of working at their own pace. The following positive influence is expected to emanate as a result of competition. Firstly, people tend to achieve most of their target goals when there is competition from their peers, at this point, everyone is on track with complete tenacity thereby resulting in achieved dreams. For instance, I can vividly remember how I passed my first professional exam and the efforts I channelled towards it because everyone in the class was competing to ace the exam. Another positive influence is that individuals that compete with each other tend to succeed because nobody would want to be left at the pecking order, Hence everyone strives to be recognised. Competition always yields good results. Coming to its negative influence, firstly, it will make some individuals soil their hands on illicit things because they want to be counted. Most competitions result in people indulging in different malfeasance which can be detrimental and also jeopardize the growth of society, for example, A friend of mine indulge in robbery to meet up to standard and also keep up to the Joneses, Secondly, competition leads to errors and people tend to follow the wrong route because they were not able to work at their own pace. Most individuals forget to think out what is best for them and also the right part to follow because of what was currently trending among their peers. For instance, people make mistakes when they go for what is reigning rather than finding their right part. In conclusion, as there are positive and negative influences that escalate as a result of competition, I think it is a Negative trend as people missed the right part to follow due to the inability to work at their own pace.