Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Since the second world revolution, humanity has been witnessing the degradation of ecosystems across the globe. Hence, several species worldwide are teetering on the edge of extinction. Since numerous causes for this destruction are well known, multiple solutions could be put in place to at least reduce this alarming situation. Economic greed is one of the leading motivations for deforestation. This is true in several sectors of the economy. For instance, vast areas of the Amazon were deforested because of mining. Moreover, many countries use non-environmentally friendly electricity sources, such as carbon-based fuel, because of the high profits these fuels bring to politicians and oil companies. Another cause for the poor preservation of ecosystems is unequal income distribution. Several slams in my hometown, for example, were built in the mountains with preserved green areas as many families do not have enough money to buy or rent dwellings in urbanized areas. Several actions might be put in place to hamper the destruction of ecosystems. Not only does environmental legislation need to be adopted by several countries, but also more restricted punishments are necessary against those who break the law. Perhaps, if individuals who committed crimes against nature were sent to prison or received financial penalties, we would have more people respecting the environment. Furthermore, non-fossil fuels should be the choice for electricity production, such as solar, hydro, and windy power. Finally, more affordable households should be created in areas that are safe for people and for the environment. In a nutshell, there are several excuses that companies and people use to destroy our ecosystem. However, under no circumstances should we allow those dishonest motivations to destroy our nature..