In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Gap year is often an option that are taken by students. Taking a year off from study comes with benifits on having opportunities for individuals to develop new skills, and to discover their passions. On the other hand, this plan may disadvantage people if time is used unwisely, or if one feels getting delayed from others. Discussing from the main advantages, taking a year off is a great way to hone up soft skills. During high school and university years it is not always guranteed to have a place in the busy day to work on volunteering. But with gap year, people can seriously take part in actions that would develop lifelong social skills. Furthermore, by having more time to yourself, individuals can discover its passion. This can be especially helpful for students that are planning to study in America, where courses in university can be changed after enrolling. This way it benefits students to focus their studies that are alligned to their passion. In contrast, the year of self-discovery can be easily wasted if it is not planned constructively. Putting aside telephone calls for work experience, and instead binging on TV shows can easily consume up all the time for self development. Meanwhile, others may feel delayed from taking the year off. Especially with the recent accessibility to social media platform, people can easily compare themselves with others and may end up feeling like they are wasting time with the year. Infact, such phenomena has caused many students to feel negatively about their gap year. In conclusion, taking a year off from study can create a chance to build interpersonal skills. However, such advantage should be outweighted by potential consequences such as, ineffective time usage, or the negative impacts on mental health.