Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace. Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages.

In the modern era, technology allows people to work both in offices and at home. While there are multifarious advantages of working remotely at home, there are some hidden drawbacks to online working. In this essay, according to my opinion, there are more benefits of working online rather than in the workplace. One of the major advantages of remote working is saving time and money. For instance, if I work from my residence for a week, it would save 100 CAD and 3 hours of driving time on the road in a day. Not only offices but also the entrepreneurs get the benefits from working outside of offices due to saving an enormous budget spending on office rent and electricity bills. For example, during Covid-19, ISUZU, a Japanese car company, saved 50 million baht on the electricity bill, they saved the budget for paying workers for overtime working period. Then, like ISUZU, many companies decided to continue working remotely in spite of the end of Covid-19. On the other hand, there are some demerits of working outside their workplace. Firstly, as team workers meet on a small screen via laptop and smartphone during the online conference, they lose the relationship among their teammates. To illustrate, they could have lunch together and spend time after finishing their work. As a result, it could cause a better working environment for workers. Moreover, it could cause depression due to consuming more energy and concentration on the online meeting via a small screen. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned paragraphs, I believe that the benefits of working at home due to the advancement of technology are better compared to the drawbacks.