Many young people say that mobile phones are the most important object that they own. Does the popularity of mobile phones among young people have more advantages or disadvantages?

In contemporary society, there is a rising amount of young individuals who argue that cellular phones are the most crucial object that they own. Personally, I strongly believe that this phenomenon has more drawbacks than benefits as mobile phones might be harmful to health. However, they are a noteworthy opportunity to communicate with family members who are living in a foreign country. It cannot be denied that the everyday use of smartphones may deteriorate people's well-being. The phones themselves emit radiation and what is more nowadays the majority of smartphones are consistently connected to the internet, which enhances the radiation markedly. Linked to this, constant use of smartphones, may alter people's health. For instance, a ground-breaking evidence-based article was recently published by the University of Cambridge, which argues that using smartphones before sleep alters the central nervous system due to screen brightness. To elaborate this further, the levels of hormones necessary for proper sleep deteriorate, which subsequently might be a source of other health issues. Moreover, the study argues that the fertility of younger generations has been decreasing rapidly on account of cell phone use. Despite these disadvantages, there is no denying conviction, that smartphones can play an important role in communication with friends or family members who live abroad. For instance, individuals are able to accept a call wherever they are, without taking a heavy laptop. On the other hand, a lot of young people use fitness apps as a source of training advice instead of communication with professional trainers, which subsequently may reduce crucial face-to-face communication. This approach, may alter mental well-being as individuals may lack personal interactions. To conclude, from the aforementioned examples, mobile phones despite some advantages, may have a serious impact on an individual’s physical and mental well-being and thus there is a defensible basis for the argument that they have more disadvantages than advantages.