Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime, while others think there are alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime rates are increasing globally despite multiple approaches taken to reduce them. Some argue that sentencing offenders to longer jail time would help to reduce crime rates; however, others think there are other better solutions. This essay will discuss both views and why I believe the latter has more advantages. Some people believe that extended imprisonment is beneficial. They think it will deter society from breaking the law because of the long restrictive life in prison. Moreover, there will be less recidivism, given most offenders are stuck in jail for a more extended period. So the lesser criminals are released back into society, fewer new crimes will occur. On the contrary, I believe there are alternative ways of curbing crime. To begin with, a good rehabilitation program for prisoners is essential in preparing them to return to work after being released. Once they are better equipped with skills to get a job and wages, they will be more financially independent and restrained from re-committing. For example, in certain prisons in Malaysia, prisoners undergo vocational skills training in cooking, gardening and sewing to help instil confidence for them to reintegrate into society and start working again. On top of that, drug use among criminals is far too common, as well as drug trafficking, so it is imperative to have educational programs on the complications of drug use to the public and methods of getting help once they are involved in using illegal substances. This may be a form of encouragement and support in becoming law-abiding citizens. In conclusion, lengthening prison sentences to prevent more crimes may not bring many benefits. More practical approaches such as rehabilitation and educational programs will help reduce offences. If citizens were more financially independent and educated, wouldn't there be less crime?