Some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy too difficult to learn, so some people argue that these subjects should be optional rather than compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, a significant amount of youngsters face a hurdle in learning some conventional subjects, notably, mathematics and philosophy. That’s why it is argued that such courses must be kept non-major instead of making it mandatory. I completely disagree with the experts because of two rock-solid reasons. To begin with, traditional subjects like maths, philosophy, and so on have a career prospects. When it comes to the question of people, from engineering backgrounds, require in-depth knowledge of mathematics. If such a subject has been made optional at the school level, then it would lose its importance, and the aspiring students who want to pursue a career, namely, civil, mechanical, and so on backgrounds will surely suffer in their higher education. Similarly, the students who want to be a psychologist will also suffer, if they do not have a strong foundation in a subject like philosophy from their childhood. Hence, to enrich students’ careers the authority should make these courses mandatory even though a child finds those academics hard to learn. In the meantime, they could introduce extra care to the weak children, for instance, private tuition, and so many others to overcome their learning difficulties. In addition to these, contemporary academics have day-to-day use. My point is that one can use the knowledge of calculations, say, addition, subtraction, and many more in case of investment in the stock market. Moreover, the comprehensive knowledge gathered from the life of philosophers, for instance, Aristotle, Plato, etc. helps one to shape his/her life according to them. To sum up, it must be said that the traditional curriculum should not be altered because it is necessary for daily life as well as for higher education. I reckon subject’s like maths and philosophy should be treated as major ones because if it has been made optional, they would surely lose importance.