The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to technological development, social media has become more closely linked to our daily life. On the one hand, it brings convenience to our life; on the other hand, it has some disadvantages, such as replacing face-to-face contact. I think the demerits of social media outweigh its merits, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, it brings a gulf between people in our society. On account of social media, people tend to speak more online than in real-life; therefore, it seems that social media has cut the link between man and today's society. Take China as an example. There are hundreds and thousands of internet users who suffer from autism; they are reluctant to communicate and make friends; social media is their only "friend." It can be said that although social media doesn't create this situation, it worsens this phenomenon to a large extent. Second, it is detrimental to our health. It has been reported that there is a growth in the global myopic rate, and social media is considered one of the main causes. According to some statistical figures, people spend at least 4 hours on social media on average. As we know, without the protection of sunlight, our eyesight can be deteriorated by electronic devices; and we usually only use social media indoors. Thus, such a habit can be fatal. It's worth mentioning that not only our eyesight is affected because of social media, but our cervical spine is influenced on account of spending too much time on smartphones. On the other hand, social media has some advantages. For instance, it alleviates the global unemployment crisis. Many jobs have been created due to social media, such as Youtubers and Instagram influencers. Besides, more and more young people are engaging in internet-related jobs, and this group is growing. In conclusion, the disadvantages of social media outstrip its advantages.