As a part of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In today’s modern society, it is true that gaining insight into other linguistic and other cultural characteristics plays a pivotal role in education. Therefore, some people believe that students should be given opportunities to live abroad and take their time to do so. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this sentiment due to some compelling reasons. On the one hand, it is undeniable that studying in a foreign country can actually broaden youngsters’ horizons and open their minds, but this way of learning will cost a substantial amount of money for the student and their families as well. The cost of enrolling in a course to acquire a second language or the accommodation is a tall order for a family with financial problems. Moreover, some students feel that because of the exorbitant tuition fee, they must be responsible for helping their parents in terms of the economy, so they decided to go out and do extra jobs with small wages. This has led to the fact that some of them are already struggling to find a balance between work and study and they, eventually, are likely to perform poorly in tests at their educational institutions. On the other hand, living far from home is not a reality that not everyone can get over. First, they must deal with the homesickness caused by being apart from their relatives. It is natural to feel sad because you aren’t able to sleep in your own bed and eat home-cooked food surrounded by your family. Moreover, culture shock may happen to some people who have just moved far from their country. Many students, undoubtedly, may find it hard to cope with the language barriers and general cultural differences. These negative factors possibly affect the initial aim of the student which is learning a new language and exploring new cultures. In conclusion, going overseas is not the only way to obtain language skills and culture since students can easily do that thanks to contemporary conveniences such as the Internet.