Movies and television strongly influence the way people behave. Do you agree or disagree? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Most people agree that all forms of entertainment affect society. In my opinion, movies and television shows really do influence how people behave. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, films and television provide society with a lot of negative roles which many people are willing to emulate. These days, the so-called “anti-hero” is a big part of popular culture. This is a type of character who acts badly around other people, ignores the rules of society and has a really misanthropic attitude. Commonly, these characters glorify excessive violence and drug use. My own personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, a close friend of mine was a huge fan of characters like this. While he started high school as a straight-A student, he later began to watch a lot of films which gave him the impression that taking drugs and fighting with his classmates was amusing and even desirable manner. As a result, he barely finished high school and is now unemployed. Moreover, he has few job prospects. Had he not watched so many terrible movies, he would not be in such a desperate situation today. On the other hand, TV shows and movies also provide people with a lot of positive role models. For people who desire to watch wholesome shows, there are many family-friendly options to choose from. Programs of this type showcase functioning and stable families. They don’t just show traditional and conservative families, but caring, loving people from many different backgrounds and with many different beliefs. For instance, my own family often takes inspiration from the parents and children we see our favorite family drama, “The Bosby Show.” We are not always able to live up to the ideals the show presents to us, but they positively influence the way we behave every day. We are really thankful for the influence it has on our lives. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that television and movies influence the way almost everyone behaves in modern society. This is because some movies cause us to act in detrimental ways and because other shows inspire us to emulate and embrace positive values.