Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

It is debatable whether experiencing peer pressure would empower individuals in a healthy way or their performance under it would be degraded. Despite the strong opinion stating that overcoming peer pressure is necessary, I believe that under some circumstances, that kind of pressure would turn into a toxic factor affecting people’s lives. To begin with, dealing with peer pressure can mean squeezing oneself into a framework, limiting their ability to grow. If someone is suffering from peer pressure, there is a high chance they are trying hard to catch up with others. However, everyone is unique in their own way, having their own pace, talents, and hobbies. Thus, chasing after someone else’s success is a waste of time. Instead, they should focus on their own selves and strive for self-development, and personal growth. For instance, some kids are told to become doctors or other academic professional fields. Growing up witnessing and being compared with successful relatives, this young generation is likely to pursue a wrong path that is against their will, wasting dreams, and gifted abilities such as drawing, composing music, etc. In contrast, the reason for the positivity towards peer pressure is its hidden chance of turning into a great motivation. There are no such faults in striving for a better self. People who can transform pressure into the courage to explore new things, seek knowledge, and take risks to process the characteristics of being successful. A relatable example is that if someone is insecure about their appearance, suffering peer pressure from good-looking celebrities, and models, then, they will put themselves into a disciplined healthy diet, and lifestyle. They successfully achieve their goal. To conclude, peer pressure is a common phenomenon existing these days which creates an enormous impact on individuals’ lives. However, being a harmful obstacle or a potential opportunity for change depends on how people perceive and compromise with it.