Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Rapidly growing population and urbanisation are the two major factors contributing to traffic and pollution problems in metropolitan cities, especially. It is believed that an increase in fuel prices can reduce the number of vehicles on road and air pollution will eventually decrease. Although this can be helpful, in my opinion, it is surely not the best way to tackle the problems. In this essay, I will explain why, in my view, a price surge in petrol is not enough and what other measures might be more effective. For starters, it is not possible to increase petrol prices drastically and if it cannot be done, a slight increase would most likely have no effect on people who drive their personal vehicles. Although they will criticise government for doing so, they will continue to commute with their personal dwellings. Apart from this, an increment in fuel costs will only fill government officials' pockets and the tax earned due to the surge will most likely never going to be diverted towards the over all development of society. Thus, simply increasing the fuel rates is not going to solve traffic or pollution issues. There are, however, a few ways in which traffic problems can be addressed. Improving public transport facilities can help in diverting some people towards their usage. If there are better quality buses, for example, people would like to go for this cheaper option instead of burning their private vehicle's fuel. Additionally, if certain laws, like the Odd-Even Rule, are passed then it would become mandatory for people to follow them resulting in less traffic on roads. As per the rule passed in Delhi recently, for instance, a person who has a car with an Odd number can drive his/her car only on some days and another person who has a car with an Even number can drive around on another days. This has significantly reduced Delhi traffic. In conclusion, a shoot in petrol prices alone is not an efficient solution because it will hardly impact people. Therefore, it is essential to put other methods into action in order to alleviate the environmental and traffic issues.