Some believe buildings should be built in a way that serves their purpose rather than just look beautiful. Others, however, say buildings should represent art too. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Architectural advancements have progressed throughout the years. Nowadays, there are beliefs that infrastructures should be built based on functionality, however, some argue aesthetics should be in consideration. I belong to the latter. In this essay, both views will be discussed. On the one hand, people leaning toward buildings based on purpose mostly seeks full usage of such structures. This is because it is often perceived that when based on beauty, the maximum potential for use will suffer. To illustrate, dormitories are meant to be occupied by students near schools. This type of construction is mainly designed to serve as temporary shelter while students are away from home where they can sleep, bathe, and eat. If beauty was integrated, not only would it put stress on students for maintenance, but can also be a distraction. On the other hand, arguments have been made regarding the integration of art with buildings. This is because some believe that it adds appeal to the overall appearance. Furthermore, it can also serve as a form of storytelling for culture and history embedded in different buildings. For example, a new style has been emerging termed "minimalistic" design where more neutral colours are chosen and buildings are designed less edgy but rather simply. This was adapted from Japanese culture where households are to a minimum yet still considered beautiful. To sum up, some believe that buildings should be founded on their specific use. While this can be beneficial for all, in my opinion, beauty and functionality can be integrated together where buildings are very useful yet so pleasing to the eyes.