Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is no denying fact that on the salad day of the millennium children are spending plenty of their time on gadgets like smartphones, I-pads and tablets. Different people have different mindsets. Certain folks think that it is a positive trend because it enables the new generation to use the technology at an early age. Others oppose this notion because there are many health and cognitive issues related to the excessive use of technology. I believed that there should be an age and time limit for the use of these gadgets. So, in my opinion, overuse of phones would be a negative development. In this discourse, I will further elucidate my assertions about this issue in the forthcoming paragraphs. Analyzing the statement and explaining it further, the first and foremost important reason for the overuse of smartphones is that children have fewer opportunities of going outside and have physical activities. Sometimes both parents are working, so they have fewer opportunities to spend quality time with their children. As result, young children start spending their time with these gadgets. To cite an example, when a baby is crying and the mom is cooking her dinner or attending an office meeting virtually she tends to hand over a gadget to the toddler which is playing some sort of poem or cartoon. It diverts the attention of the child and he would stop crying. Probing ahead, another striking reason stems from the fact that these days children and youth start using this gadget for educational purposes. When they hold a device to finish their homework then many other apps and websites attract their attention and make them busy to watch a series of short reels like Tiktok or youtube. These videos and apps are very addictive that they spend hours and hours without notice that how much time is passed. This will affect their eyesight. Some researchers explain that too much use of these devices will affect the cognitive development of children. Parents should consider all the negative aspects before handing out such devices to their children To recapitulate, according to the argument aforementioned above, one can reach the conclusion that the use of smartphones for hours in a day would be harmful to children. We should use anything with reasonable limitations.