Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

It is considered by certain professors that international student exchange has a positive impact on highschool students. In my opinion the advantages of living in a new culture and learning new information overcomes the drawbacks of leaving home and speaking another language. On one hand, studying abroad offers the unique opportunity of learning new useful information. In other words, students have the chance to see what kind of information is taught in different countries, which are the teaching methods and how problems are tackled. For instance, in Romania students listen to the information given by their professors while in Western countries they are encouraged to search data in various media and to ask questions. Another advantageous thing is the chance to live in another culture. Students can directly interact with their fellow colleagues from other societies and understand or even practice their habits. For example they can taste local food or take part in student parties. On the other hand, international student exchange implies leaving the comfort zone from home and living in a foreign place. It implies that they have to temporary give up on your daily routine and social activities and adapt to a new world. For instance, if they live with their parents, they do not have to worry about food or other supplies while when abroad they will have to manage all the aspects of their life. Nevertheless, this could be a good life experience helping them to become responsible adults. Another disadvantage is the need to speak the local language or an international one instead of their mother tongue. As most of the students are not native English speaker this could be a problem as they might have some gaps in their vocabulary. For example when a Romanian student goes to Spain they will have to speak either Spanish or English. However, practicing a foreign language would enlarge their horizons and improve their lexicon. In conclusion, the teacher’s thoughts that international student exchange is a useful experience for all adolescents is supported by heavy arguments that overcome by far the disadvantages.