Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic: News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Mostly, news editors decide what should be shown in media, whether it could be television or newspapers. This statement is discussed with own ideas, experiences with examples. It is true that media influence readers and viewers and the public are mostly attracted to negative stories. This is because news has been used as a major distraction in people's life. As per a scientific study, human minds are attracted to or influenced by negative reports, which helps them to occupy their mind throughout the day. Therefore, reporters are forced to report negative information since they could attract many subscribers and viewers.There are many factors that could influence editors to include certain news reports, one of the main reasons is to attract many subscribers and viewers. Further, It is one of the main reasons why humans are suffering from stress and anxiety. They have been built as peaceful and joyful beings. However, due to these external factors, humans lose their inner peace and joy. In my experience, There was a small incident between two individuals in one of the villages in Sri Lanka, since both of them were drunk on the specified date. But, news has released articles or telecasted through tv by showing the names of two victims who are from different religions, which has resulted in negative turmoil in the nation. There were a few other incidents that occurred in the nation as revenge for this incident. On the other hand, when journalists release positive articles or videos, they could improve the quality of the life of people. For example, whenever, there is information about an individual's or country's achievement in sports or on various other occasions, it could send positive vibes among people. In my own experience, when the Sri Lanka cricket team wins a match or series,newspapers and tv channels send out positive facts all around the island. Subsequently, the whole population celebrate in their respective locations. In summary, News editors influence the news reported to people. But, the press should release facts whether it is negative or positive. However, they should sugarcoat negative information or use euphemisms in order to reduce the intensity of the issues. Further, it would be best for the press to report many positive broadcasts occurring in the country or around the world to help communities to have a positive life.