Some people think that the urban spaces must be used for parks rather than for housing. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

As the cities grow denser, the need to use the available land in the best possible way has become significant. Many people advocate parks must be developed to minimize the impact of increasing urbanization on the environment than constructing residential units for the ever-increasing population. However, in my opinion, urban planners should strike a balance between green areas and accommodation for sustainable growth of the cities. The presence of parks in the surrounding areas mitigates the environmental and visual congestion produced by buildings and vehicles. They not only contribute to air quality but help in easing temperature as well. A prime example is Beijing which prioritizes the expansion of public green zones over construction projects for this very reason. In addition, vegetation has the power to attract people to outdoor activities, therefore, helping to counteract the effects of stress of everyday monotony. Hence, parks make it possible to provide the city with natural spaces, that allow environmental regulation and quality of life. The rapid pace of urbanization has also generated a greater demand for shelter, especially among the poor and lower-middle-income urban dwellers who lack to pay for decent housing. Creating secure and affordable housing is essential to ensure economic productivity and equity for the whole metropolis. Vienna, for instance, is evidence of the efficacy of such communities. If there isn’t enough housing in the city, more residents will be pushed to the outskirts, far from infrastructure, social networks and existing jobs, creating long travel times and additional expenses. To sum up, urban space is a valuable asset for the cities. It must be supplemented by quality design to ensure budgeted housing and sustainable development that slows down the ecological harm which cities inevitably cause.